The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today's world, knowledge is the key to success. It is the basic weapon of the society which establishes your respect among the people. If you are a well versed person who could delineate anything and everything with ease, it signifies the command you have on the subject. A voluble person can go on writing and talking about something, if he has the right knowledge. However, all of this knowledge does not come from books. A majority of them are gain by experience, may it be a life lesson or a rejection by the familiar.

There are a myriad ways in which a lesson for life could be taught to you. It is no compulsion that the first step to self knowledge has to be a rejection, and specifically by a familiar. Basically, there are three types of people who exist in the society.

Talking about the first, is the person who learns from his own mistakes and hence, is self taught. Such people know exactly their faults and make sure they don't make the same errors again. For example, if a person loses his job due to his acerbic tone, while talking to the boss, he might be well in control the next time he loses his temper in front of his boss, as he now knows that it might cost him is job.

The second type of person is the one who learns from others mistakes. It is not necessary to take a life lesson from your own experience, there is lesson in every action of the day, every person you come across. For example, an advocate had to be present at the final hearing of a case but was late by around an hour which cost him his case. So when the other person has a crucial thing to look forward to, he will be careful that he doesn't mess up with his chance.

Finally, the third type of person is the one who never learns, neither from his mistakes, nor from the ones made by others. However, this class is not the matter of discussion. Therefore, a self lesson can be taught by various means, it just depends upon the awareness of the person.

Talking about rejection by the familiar, it is indeed an eyeopener and the first step of self knowledge, but not the only one.The rejection of the familiar is indeed depressing, however, one cannot wait for it to gain self knowledge. To become a knowledgeable person, knowledge of the books combined with self knowledge gain during the various instances of life is necessary.