Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific research played a vital role in raising the quality of life on this earth through the history in many aspects. Without a doubt, the technologies and developments that we have today are the fruit of the scientific contributions of the past time. As a result, it is an ongoing debate whether governments should place restrictions on scientific research and development, or the scientific research shouldn't be restrained. In my opinion, governments should place some restrictions on the scientific research, but not excessive restrictions which may impede the flourish of the science.

Scientific research has two aspects; while it can be used positively to help the humankind, also it can be used for destructive purposes. For instance, scientific research in the medical field produced an enormous number of medications, helped to cure many diseases, and lessened the mortality rates. On the other hand, scientific research produced many harmful drugs which cause addiction. Hence, governments should assure consistent restriction on the development of harmful scientific research.

Furthermore, there are many ethical aspects involved in the scientific research, such as testing on animals. Many scientific experiments use animals as a tool such as; testing on animals in cosmetics and perfume production, this issue sparks the rage of the activists in many countries. Currently, in the UK and across the rest of the EU, testing cosmetic products or their ingredients on animals is banned. Another ethical issue concerning the scientific research results fallen into the wrong hands, this might lead to a hazardous risk. For instance, many people concerned about the threat of human cloning if it is used for business benefits in the future.

In contrast, many argue that government restriction on the scientific research hinders its development since scientific research needs government support and funding to flourish. Moreover, scientists should be free from constraints to be creative and innovative, government restriction restrains their minds and lessen their passion for scientific research. This will be true if the government is as ignorant as the church banning telescope in the old ages to keep the people away from any discovery which might defeat their beliefs and enlighten their thinking. But, the government should have a planned and minimal restriction on the scientific research, not to limit the progress of scientific research.

In summary, it is the government role to assure that the scientific research benefits the humankind, and control the risks of its development and results, by placing the suitable restrictions without hampering the productivity of the scientific research.