If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today’s society, many are advocating for a goal-oriented approach to life. To become successful and achieve great things, one of the most important factors people believe is setting up ambitious goals and attaining them, sometimes through all means necessary. This prompt not only underscores the importance of attaining goals, but also further expand it by justifying any means taken in the process. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this position and argue that means with malevolent nature are never justifiable despite its worthiness deemed at the time for three reasons.

To begin, there are many means in most of the societies in this world that are never justifiable, such as theft, rape, murder, and betrayal. Thus, any goals achieved through means that the societies condemn cannot be justified. For instance, President John F Kennedy was initially very deferential amongst the general American population during his time in office, especially due to his perspicacious decisions related to the Cold War. However, his reputation was significantly damaged because he chose to betray the Cuban Americans soldiers during the Bay of Pig invasion by intentionally withdrawing US troops to avoid responsibilities of the attack. Consequently, the “Perfect President” persona was shattered overnight due to his insincere intention while attempting to achieve his goals to control the Red Terror. Even though President Kennedy is still one of the most liked President of the US, the Bay of Pig invasion is always a blemish that people will remember him for. The above example illustrates that despite a goal that considers worthy, attaining it by ways that are not accepted by the general population are never justifiable, and will likely backfires by destroying milestones that were already achieved.

Furthermore, even if we assume that one is attaining goals with the most benign intentions, such process cannot be justified if it causes a great deal of distress to others within the society. For instance, during the Cold War, USSR was spending a majority of the budget towards the Space Race against the United States while overlooking the financial well-beings of the citizens. Despite being the first regime to send a person into space and winning the race, such approach is not espoused, and most people still criticize the USSR for that because achieving the goal of space exploration scarified the Soviet people’s well-beings of the time. Even if we assume the goal of USSR of the time was simply advancing science, their process of attaining that goal was not justifiable due to the significant cost its people paid. Thus, when the process of attaining certain goals come at a cost of other people, such process cannot easily be justified, which makes such goal unworthy and counterproductive to pursue.

Of course, some argue that the action of giving all it takes to achieve one’s goals is estimable because it represents dedication and gumption and thus it is imperative for succession. However, embracing such mindset give too much emphasis on achieving the results and therefore overlook the process of attaining them. Elizabeth Holmes was a great example who beheld this mindset. By attempting to fulfill her dream, which was to invent a technology that can analyze all information in the human body through just one drop of blood, she embraced the idea of “giving all it takes”, even expanding it to “fake it till you make it”, deceiving the public and her sponsors that she was on the way to achieve such results. Unfortunately, her luck ran out in the end, and her method of reaching her goal ended in court when she faced multiple charges of fraud. People who do whatever it takes to achieve their goals do so at their own peril.