Issue: As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

In this modern era , technology is all-pervasive in human life. There is hardly any field left untouched by technology. Technology has played a major role in almost all the areas including education, health, security services, commerce and industries etc. Internet connectivity and PC have become an important part of daily life as good as any other requirement for survival for more than 50% of human population. This advancement in technology has never hampered the ability of humans to think creatively. In fact, its their creativity that gives rise to a new technology every now and then.

Technology is there to assist humans to carry out their activities in an easy and efficient way. It helps humans to carry out repetitive tasks easily and with less effort so that their skills can be utilised to develop more techniques so as to solve further problems. In fact,using technology for solving problems itself demands human ability to deal with the issues arising because of technical limitations and faults. This ,instead of deteriorating their ability , sharpens it and prepares them to face further challenges.

The steep rise of technical firms is a clear evidence of the fact that the reliance of technology is in no way a deterrent to the human capability to think. Taking example of Wright Brothers who designed the first aircraft, definitely ,they faced a lot of challenges facing which enhanced their ability and today we have a variety of aircrafts serving different purposes in an excellent way. Internet , the immense source of knowledge, has made it accessible for a student studying in a small town to get to know the research going on in the other part of the world. Not only this, the introduction of robots in human surgery has increased the finesse of the surgical operations and engineers are constantly working to make further improvements which hints at increasing ability of engineers. With the introduction of advcances telecommunication services, the world is reduced to a global village where people of different areas can share their views and ideas on a common platform which proves to be an effective way of enhancing human knowledge and global advancement.

However, some people get obsessed with technology and rely on it so much to the extent that their ability to think on their own deteriorates. As an example, a typical industrialist saves all his appointments and meeting details in an online calendar or mobile. The moment, that online service or mobile stops working , his entire schedule is disturbed. The reliance to this extent is not desirable.

In a nutshell, it can be said that technology has not been a hindrance in the path of humans ability to think , but it should be used judiciously so that we can continue to avail adavntages from it. As it has been rightly said by Mahatam Gandhi, Machines are made to be slaves of humans and not their masters.