It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The conception of people drawing inspirations from their heros are from time immemorial. These heros can be both alive or dead personalities. But as the extent of media coverage is booming exponentially, we tend to know more about the people we consider our heroes. This includes not only the achievements from which we draw inspiration but also about their negative traits. Nevertheless, this nature of media cannot stop us from considering living man or woman as heros, because it is upon the person's attitude which determines his conception of a hero.

Today, with the advent of satellite communication, we are able to gather news from all over the world right by sitting in our homes. This advancement in technology has helped us know more about our celebrities and their scandals like never before. It may definitely seem very likely as more scandals about the celebrities are exposed, people will stop revering as their heros. On the contrary, it is not true because as a matter of fact, no one in this universe is absolutely perfect. Hence, if we take this into account, each person will have some or the other negative trait. Hence, it is upon us whether to overlook the negative traits or consider them. A simple example to illustrate this would Mahatma Gandhi. Mahatma Gandhi today is revered all over the world because of his exceptional non-violent ideology. Numerous people try to imitate his personality. However, if we look at the darker side of Mahatma Gandhi, there are several rumours which suggest that this great personality induldged in sleeping with young women. This being a very serious allegation about such a great personality never stopped people from drawing inspirations from him. Rather, we choose to ignore this and rather draw inspiration from his positive traits.

However, there are instances as well in which media played a signifact role in destroying the personality of emminent persons. Recently, a very famous footballer was convicted for indulding in having sexual intercourse with an underaged teenage girl. This exposure of scandal by the media caused a signifact havoc among the public and moreover many people, who revered him as god, have started despising him.

In a conclusion, it cannot be said for sure that the media stops people from considering living men and women as heroes, but it definitely has a significant impact on a person. However, the ultimately decision lies upon the person whether to consider a living personality as their legend or not.