Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leaders are not born but created by the need of the hour. When people take up the responsibility that others failed to satisfy because of their ineptitude leaders are born. Leadership is a quality that is not innate or occupied through the genes, it is something that is gained through experience and need for that experience. So to say that leaders are created by demands that are placed on them is something that I agree with and to prove this the following two reasons should be adequate.

People need guidance only when there is a demand to fulfill and the one who guides the masses becomes the leader of the pack. For instance, in the post World War 1 Germany there was chaos everywhere and there was a dire need of an individual that could lead the commoners out of their misery. One man ceased this opportunity and that man is the infamous Hitler. The poor German plebeians accepted Hitler as their King and since there was no one else that kindled hope in their hearts Hitler rose in prominence. This only happened because there was a demand and a person who understood this incumbency and thus capitalized on it. This example goes to show that people transform their qualities to meet the needs and become leaders whether for the good or for the bad.

Moreover, if a self-proposed leader is heading a group who has never accepted any responsibility and is at the helm only because of his or her influence in the group then that head honcho is bound to burn when a demanding situation arises. This can be illustrated with an example. Suppose a chairperson of a multinational company makes his daughter the head of the institution after his retirement and the daughter has never had any responsibility on her head in the past then she is bound to fail as a leader. This is because she does not have the required experience or skill set to become a leader. As this example states that without a prior knowledge or experience one cannot become a good leader.

One should not forget that exceptions are always there, so there will, most certainly, be someone who will challenge the argument that without any demands placed on the person that person cannot become a leader. But for now I will state that requirement and responsibility is a perquisite of a leader.