Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline students cannot be motivated by school or college alone

Learning can be achieved in various ways and methods and is subjective to individuals. The prompt states that personal discipline is what keeps us going in the process of learning and educational institutions are not enough to keep students motivated. I mostly agree, that learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline for the following reasons, but I do concede that school and college can help in shaping the learning process of students.

To begin, personal discipline holds utmost importance in learning because it provides the consistency and will power required to learn new things and make improvements within our learning process. For instance, Thomas Edison the inventor of electric bulb conducted thousands of failed experiment, gained knowledge from the failures before bringing the electric bulb into reality. In addition to that, with the increase of social media the number of ways a student can get distracted are myriad and the solution to be consistent comes from self-discipline. From the above examples it is clear that self-discipline is a need in today's world and one who fails to follow personal discipline is prone to get out of track with his or her decided tasks and will surely hinder the learning process to a great extent.

Furthermore, schools and colleges are not enough to provide us with the ultimate information and knowledge required in today's globalized world. To illustrate, nowadays, the technology is consistently improving and updating, but educational institutions are restricted to follow certain decided topics and cannot go out of the curriculum due to lack of time, whereas a person with self-determination and self-discipline will surely go outside the curriculum and seek knowledge from various other resources. Thus, the above scenario implies that schools and colleges tend to limit our potential and self-determination proves to be a great tool to extend our learning is going out of our comfort zone and extracting information externally.

However, the positive sides of standard education methods cannot be ignored simply because they help students in realizing their field of interest and weaknesses and ways they can improve them which is important to keep us motivated. For example, students often give examinations utmost importance and work towards scoring a certain amount of score which they desired, while doing so they learn about many things and grasp information about numerous topics and subjects which they may procrastinate to learn, but to achieve their desired score they got a reason to be motivated. So formal school and college educational methods can act as a catalyst in boosting the learning process.

In conclusion, from the above cases it is pragmatic to be self-disciplined as it holds utmost importance in keeping us on our tracks and not letting us get distracted to maintain our learning abilities and school and colleges can be beneficial to students in providing motivation and helping in their overall educational progress.