The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As per the author it is stated that individuals tend to loose their independence and strength as they indulge more into luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life. However, attributing luxuries and convenient lifestyle directly for hampering the growth of individuals into strong and independent persons is not true. It is the personality and attitude that is more responsible for weakening and making a person more dependent.

Luxury and Convenience is something that makes a person’s life more comfortable, but in no way it represents a necessity. However, as individuals becoming more indulged in luxury, generally their behaviour undergoes changes. People often take aeroplanes to reach to different cities in a much shorter time. However, when a person’s reliance on aeroplane increases, it results changes in attitude. As a result, when the person tends to travel to places within a city, he tends to use a car more. In fact, so much that he even ends up using car for buying groceries from a nearby store using a car, rather than going by walk or bicycle. Thus, luxuries and conveniences affect the dependency of the individual by quite a significant amount indirectly.

However, this cannot be said to be true in all cases. Many people tend to spend considerable amount of time using cellphones or watching television. Thus, when they are devoid of these luxuries, they feel they have nothing else to do, but this can be attributed to partial dependence. While, it may seem that this personal dependence is tending to make the person weaker and less independent, nevertheless it cannot be said for sure. It is because, it is the attitude of the individual which encourages to take on new challenges. Thus, blaming luxuries for the negative attitude would be wrong, as there might be something else at work here.

Thus, even though it may seem that luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life tend to make a individual less dependent and weak, this cannot be said for sure. Rather it is the attitude and personality of a person which plays a crucial role in developing the strength and independency of the individuals.