The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

From the birth of science, the sole purpose of evolution has been made clear by the scientists: Evolve to be better, for better survival. Although the modern day man, or, Homo Sapen is said to be the most evolved person, by innovating and utilising the best technology at hand, it the man can at some point be said to have become “fragile” as compared to its ancestors. In my opinion, the luxuries have indeed made the modern day man’s life easier and better, at the same time more lazier and weaker. These luxuries have impacted the life of people in three major ways.

To begin with, the man has evolved himself and the tools he invents. The hunting spears of caveman have been replaced with more sophisticated traps. But the same inventions are making humans lazy. Man has lost health in the race between time and money. People today are ready to invest money in technology, which can save their time and bring more productivity. This has several negative impacts on health. What ones used to be full body exercise for farmers is now replaced with machinery. Although the farm’s overall harvest is much better, it has made the farmer physically weak. And this is not just applicable in the field of agriculture, take any other industry, any “desk job”. Majority of these convenient jobs are making people weaker. In UNESCO’s 2018 report, it has been reported that 8% more people die each year than preceding due to heart issues. This is some serious concern one needs to evaluate and resolve.

Moreover, the technology has become a part of us. In Robert Brown’s Origin, he has pictured a vision of future, where humans have evolved into a newer species, which is a combination of technology and man. It is clearly visible that modern day man has increased his dependency on technology, for any kind of task. Let it be as hard as flying in air, or as easy is purchasing grocery. Every thing is now just a button-click or a tap away. This dependency is vicious killer. One never knows when one gets addicted to it. Ones a person turns into an addict, it is impossible to separate the two. That is the sad reality of technology.

Although one can claim that technology can make us all weaker, to survive as individuals, one must ask a question: “Do we really need to survive as ‘individuals’?” Evolution is not only described by becoming stronger, but also, changing one species as a whole to survive as a group. These emerging technologies are bringing the world together, with a lot of convenience. Before 20th century, it could have taken months or days for a message to be delivered, with the modern day communication, messaging takes seconds. But the exciting factor is that messaging itself is obsolete, as now one can use video calling and see other. With this high-tech, the world is bonding and staying connected. This tech has helped to solve many (social/geographical) issues, let it be LGBT, natural disasters: Earthquakes of Japan, Tsunami of India, hunger in South-Africa. If this tech can bind as one single entity, then it might be hard for one to survive as individual, but as a community humans will become invincible.

Luxuries are always good to have, at the same time one must also use it responsibly. Addiction (to luxuries) towards anything is always bad, and it is always advised to utilise things in a careful manner. Although that luxuries make man weak might be true, what matters most for the mankind is how we survive together as a group.