Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

We are living in a world of modern technology. With the growth of mass communications and information technology, now it truly is the acme of human civilization. These technologies, they can be inferred to as necessary evils. For us to survive in the present time, we can not go without them. But, these things also have detrimental effects on our lives. The prompt reads that using this mass media have caused people to be better observers. I strongly disagree with the statement. The following sections present the thesis on taking this position.

First of all, the prompt says, the mass media and internet have shortened the attention span of the people. Is it true though? For instance, if we look around, we will see that, almost everyone is on their phones, laptops or computers. They sometimes get so involved that they often forget what is going on around them. They keep looking at a screen for hours. You can not continue doing something for hours if your attention span is limited. So this proves that the mass media or the internet have not shortened the attention period rather prolonged it.

The second part of the prompt says about the positive side of this specious observation that due to the short attention span, they can skim through information and find out significant information. Well, this is not justifiable in the remotest sense. There is a certain difference between observing something meticulously and having a look at something at a glimpse. This is not about just rolling someone's eye on something and to find something whatever that "catches the eye". And speaking of large quantity of information, if the attention span is shorter, well then, the opposite of what the prompt suggests is more likely to happen. For example, let's say someone who has limited concentration scope is presented with a large amount of data. The first thing they would do is look at the whole thing and then go "ugghhh" instead of diving into it. Their at-a-glance review will not help the cause and surely they can not do the job. So, this illustrates that duration of attention span is directly proportional to the ability of observing and analyzing something at depth.

However, some may argue that, some people have really keen eyes and they can fish out important things even though from a very cursory observation. Well, this may just prove that it is his inherent ability to do so. It has nothing to do with shorter attention span or any kind of enhancement on the ability by the use of mass media or internet. May be he has got a good overall sense. Still, this would be an exaggeration that even a person with keen eyes can scrutinize and find out subtle details just by going at it perfunctorily.

In conclusion, mass media and internet have their effects on us, true. But the notion made in the prompt does not hold truth. If anything, it does the opposite of what the prompt says.