A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting you

The school curriculum is the basic building block of knowledge for students entering college. What the students have learned and imbibed in their schools helps the students in understanding the concepts in the college courses. But there is a difference in what all the students learn at the school level because of the different curricuums adopted by the schools. So we need to circumspect whether we need all the students to study the same national curriculum before entering college.

Having a uniform school curriculum will ensure that all the students have a similar level of previous understanding and the coollege curriculum can be decided on basis of that knowledge. It will be universities to decide which students to admit based on their scores as everyone has been tested for the same knowlege. Though this might seem a logical path, but we need to look at the biggger picture.

All the students in a country are not open to same resources. Some live in the rural areas where they may not have amenities and labs like those found in the city schools. Also in a multilingual country like India, it is difficult to fix upon one language of learning. Understanding and learning in some other language is not the same as learning in one's own mother tongue.

Diffferent school curriculums have diifferent difficulty levels or focus on different aspects. Not all students aspire to become doctors, engineer or academics. There are students who show strong inclination towards sports or music from a very young age. So enforcing the same curriculum for these students won't be fair. Also students with disabilities or speacial needs may not necessarily be able to adapt to the same curriculum.

Therefore, I am of the opinion that though having a same curriculum is a good option, but it is not inclusive of everyone. So a common entrance test to get into college is a better option rather than making the schools follow the same curriculum