Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The debate regarding protection of wilderness has been heated over the decades, and the importance of natural ecology has been the focus of environmentalists. Although I admit the value of wild nature, I cannot fully agree with the statement, as it does not acknowledge any exception when remaining wilderness areas have to be developed for economic gain.

To begin with, the statement ignores unequally developed world map by prioritizing the importance of wilderness, which surely would get attention from the majority of people. It should be pointed out that the less developed countries have the wider areas of wilderness, whereas the more developed and wealthy countries have less. In other words, if the less and under developed countries pass laws to protect any remaining wild nature, they would be depraved of an opportunity for an economic development. By saying economic development, it does not necessarily mean only profit-oriented factories and fancy department stores. Rather, it means foundational infrastructure the local people can make their living, schools the local students can be educated, and hospitals the community can be benefited from. If such laws were passed, it would take away from them of even a small chance of improving those people’s lives. Therefore, considering unequally developed nations worldwide, passing laws to prevent any further development in remaining wilderness area should be carefully considered.

Moreover, it should be pointed out that the underlying assumption of the given argument is that economic gain and preservation of wilderness cannot stand together. However, it is possible that they can benefit from each other, and even a proper development can protect wild ecology better. Rather than leaving the wild reserve alone under the threat of unlicensed hunters and natural extinction, biologists and wilderness experts may provide better protection. Australia, for example, has a number of reserves where wild animals, such as penguins and koalas live. Because of the environmental change, it is no longer possible for them to survive against extinction without proper help from human beings. Thus, adequate and well thought out preservation could be more beneficial for wild nature.

Of course, some may still argue that the best way of preserve the nature is not involving at all. And the best way of not being involved is to pass laws to regulate any human activities that may impact on wilderness. However, this argument assumes that it is possible to force all countries in the world to pass such laws, and once they do, the laws would prevent any kind of development from harming the environment. Commonsense tells us that this is simply not true. The human history shows that forcing international laws is unbelievably difficult. Even the Children’s Rights United Nations Convention has not been ratified by all nations even after a half century. Then, how can it be possible to encourage all nations to pass laws that may hinder their economic growth?

In conclusion, while the idea of passing laws to keep the remaining wilderness area sounds appealing at a quick glance, it may not be the best way of approaching to the issue. It should be considered with an understanding of an unequally developed world map, the environmental benefit of proper development, and the reality of persuading all nations to ideally work together.