As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

I disagree with the given statement which states that the technology deteriorate the ability of humans to think. Technology makes our lives much easier and better.No longer we need to eat raw food, or drink unfiltered water or die from incurable diseases. If we want to commute to our work place, instead of walking, we can use a car or public transport to reach our destination quickly, we use computers to perform complex and repetitive calculations.This leaves us with enough time to pursue our creative endeavour by searching for innovative solutions to new problems like how to cure diseases like cancer, how gravitational waves gives information about the universe , the origin of Incas and Mayans etc.Technologies have not only made our lives easier, but also helped us to solve many problems whih would have been impossible to solve. As an example, the recent discovery of gravitational waves changed how we view the universe.It was done by extremely sensitive Michelson's interfereometer which should detect a change in arm lenght 1000 times smaller than a proton. Without super computers and other complex sensors, this feat couldn't have been achieved.Having this futuristic technology enabled scientists to detect gravitational waves.This is one of the many many examples,where technology aided people to learn about the mysteries of nature.

Having said that, we must not become too reliant on technology. If we begin to use calculators even for simple multiplications, we will soon lose the ability to perform simple calculations,using spell checks for simple, everyday words may result in us forgetting the spelling altogether. Also, GPS,originally designed as a military technology, when it was commercialized, became such an indespensible part of our phones that the many millenials donot know how to use a map. These so called "small" things have a cumulative effect and in the long run can affect how a person thinks.For example,in may of the Universities, students in the class are observed to be typing notes in their ipads instead of writing them down.Research had proven that that the students who write down the notes where more like to retain the important points of the class. It is because, when we write, we tend to do it slower ,which will make one understand a point and then write in his/her own words, whereas while typing,which is typically faster, a student tends to write mechanically without understanding, what is being said. These are some of several examples,in which technology can hamper the growth of human intelligence

In the above 2 aragraphs, which discussed about both pros and cons of the issue, we can see, that the advantages and disadvantages purely was dependent on how one uses it.

As said by Albus Dumbledore in Harry Potter, our choices define us far more than our abilities do. Every things has two sides. It is upto us, how we want to use it. In the example given above, instead of typing in our ipads, if we use apple pencil to write, we can both undersand the lecture properly and at the same time, reduce cutting of trees by not using paper thereby protecting the environment. This shows that, in the end, it is not the technology itself that diminishes a person's intelligence but how he/she might use it.If the person uses it for things where it is required and uses their own intelligence and creativity where it matters , a balance will be mantained and we can heap the maximum benefits of using technology in our everyday lives.