People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Although, factors which are not in control of one's own self play an important role in shaping the behavior of a person, it would be incorrect to attribute a person's behavior completely to forces not of their own making. A person's behavior is largely shaped by how he/she perceives the environment around them in their early stages of life. hence, a person's behaviour is largely linked to his/her own decisions and choices.

Let's begin with the first example of a family living in the rural area of Surat, India. The family comprised of four members, two kids raju and ramu, and their father ravi and mother Sudha. ravi being a drunkard, set a bad example for his kids growing up. however, his elder son raju, observed his father's behavior and realized that, his father's habits were detrimental and he should never become like his father. hence, raju attended school regularly, and regularly stood first in his class during examinations. he would later become a software engineer and work in a multi-national company. Alternatively, the younger son, ramu, was influenced by his father's behaviour in a negative manner and picked up all the bad habits from his drunk father. ramu was regularly involved in fights with other kids in the school and picked up negative habits from his father such as drinking alcohol, smoking cigarettes and dealing drugs. hence, ramu was negatively influenced by his father and did not realize the future implications of such behavior. ramu was later arrested by the police authorities at the age of 22, when he had been involved in gang fights and was convicted for murder. Therefore, this example provides us reason to believe that a person's behavior is not necessarily determined by forces not of their own making. Rather, a person's behavior is largely shaped by how he perceives the surrounding environment and it is based on his own choices and actions.

Alternatively, in some cases people don't have a choice in shaping their behavior. For example, a person born in the family of beggars will not have many opportunities to change his/her behaviour. The kids are usually exposed to a detrimental environment from which they cannot escape from, and spend their rest of the life begging or performing crimes. Thus, the behavior of such kids is largely shaped by external factors not in their control.

To summarize, people's behavior is determined by their own perception of things happening around them, and it is their choice to follow the path of right or wrong. however, in some extreme cases, where people don't have much say in their fate, their behavior is mainly determined by forces not of their own making.