People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that people’s behavior is not determined by their own forces but by other forces. Admittedly, external forces like mass media is powerful enough to construct people’s common sense and change their behavior. Yet, people’s own characteristic and world view are the core determinants of people’s behavior.

With the development of web 2.0 and the prevalence of smartphones, people’s standpoint of viewing the world is largely determined by the social media like Twitter and Facebook. With numerous celebrities like Kim Kardashian going popular in website and gaining millions of likes and retweets for one photo of big ass, young teenagers believe firmly that only women like Kim Kardashian are sexy. Thus, they admit to plastic surgery in a young age. According to the Guardian, having plastic surgery of bigger ass is even more popular than having surgery on eyes or breasts and there are more than 65% of teenage girls saying that they are not confident for their ass and want to have a plastic surgery in the future.

However, people’s own character can determine people’s behavior in a much more important way. People with tenacity and persistence are more likely to persist on their dream and have a more successful life. Take Lara in the film Girl as an example. Lara is a lesbian and a ballet dancer. She wants to be a girl, a successful ballet dancer and have a romantic relationship with the boy downstairs. But as a lesbian, there are lots of mocks all the time, and the process of sex reassignment surgery is too long to bear. So at the end of the movie, she uses a scissor to cut off her penis and finally becomes a girl. It is her character that brings her to her final decision, and it is her determinant character that helps her to finally achieve her dream.

People’s world view can also determine their own behavior. Like in the movie 120 Battlements par minute, those members in the nongovernmental organization “Act up” marched on Paris streets to win the attention from the public and the government on AIDs and LGBTQ, and to prevent the future rampant of AIDs. Unlike most people in 1990s, who believe that only gays can get AIDs, and being sexually minority is sinful and disgusting, members in “Act up” are more open-minded and do not want to keep silent. Thus, they marched on streets, called for equality and used blood to enlighten people. In a conclusion, people’s view of the world, of the society can direct them doing something what they think is meaningful.

In a nutshell, people’s behavior is not only determined by outside factors but also determined by people’s own characteristics and view of the world.