Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The worth of any field of study is measured by its job prospects. This is the deciding factor for many college students before they build a career in that field. What most people fail to realize is that they cannot equate the jobs offered by a particular area of study to success. Indeed, before choosing an area of study, students should pay heed to their interests and talents than merely look at the availability of jobs in that field.

While looking at the job prospects before one chooses to make a career in a particular field might sound wise and providential, it isn’t really so. A field of study has so much to do with the interest and desire of the person seeking it than simply looking at better financial gains and recognition that would be achieved by pursuing such a field. An area of study that determines the future of a student should satiate his soul and spur curiosity. The intelligentsia that preceded our generation like Einstein, Aristotle, and Shakespeare to name a few, were never motivated by such considerations to excel in their respective fields. Hence, to make a difference and to outshine others, be it in the most popular to the most obscure field of study, curiosity and desire to imbibe the subject to the fullest matters more.

We are in a generation of freelancers. They choose the field of their interest and start working independently and in turn create jobs for others. Such freelancers and young entrepreneurs are seen budding in various corners of the world and being lauded for their efforts for trying something new or rather, finding a new way of doing something. Unfortunately, most of the educational institutions encourage students to first ensure job security before developing an interest in that area of study. Such a notion hampers the talents and innate abilities of so many people that at the end we get a mass of people working perfunctorily in high-paying jobs and dissatisfied with their lives. Freelancing, today, is a step to overcome the monotony and dissatisfaction in the lives of such people by making them work in their field of interest and at the same time keeping the ride adventurous and interesting, which is what an ideal career should be.

Doing what we love no matter how odd it is and enjoying the adventures life throws at us while working in such areas sounds good and is a powerful ingredient to motivate anyone, however it is fraught with challenges and uncertainties. No matter how interesting and fun freelancing sounds, the freelancers have no job security and could be having empty pockets on some days while floating in money on the other days. To support a family living in penury, pursuing only your own obscure interests would sound a little selfish and improvident. Nonetheless, people take risks and emerge as successful individuals, rising from the ruins and leaving others amazed and stupefied.

Any field can be made successful if there is a desire and will to study and keeping this the primary aim of the career and not merely concerning oneself with materialistic considerations. People with vision have lived a life of turmoil and adventure keeping the financial considerations to the inaccessible parts of the mind.