Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

An effective political leader brings the development of the country in different direction. According to me a political leader should have strong effective principles and aims before jumped in to the field. Effective leader can change monotonous thinking pattern as well as initiate change among the people. I believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is an ability to stay consistently committed to a particular principles and goal. There are so many examples which discuss about the importance of firm leaders.

Firstly, Mahatma Gandhi was the most effective leader whose thoughts penetrates lots of people’s mind and gathers to fight for freedom. When India was rule by Britishers that time Gandhi Ji came with consistent commitment to principle of non-violence and satyagraha. If at that time Gandhi Ji did not work firmly on his own believes than the freedom was difficult. To bring change the motive force is important.

Secondly, Principal of school is also a leader and he or she should have effective plans for benefit of students. If the principal work according to students and compromise his policies than the situations become out of control. The students work as they want and refuse to follow the rules and regulation. As well as a political leader work for country and sometimes he have to take decision against public want for country's economy or development.

Thirdly, Nelson Mandela was also famous political leader who fought against racism in south Africa with his own strong principles and objectives. He was imprisoned for 27 years and he influence public with his thoughts. There are so many successful political leaders who work on their own ideologies and changed the dimensions of country. The Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Abraham Lincon, Alexander, Raja Ram Mohan Roy and many others work differently only because of their strong commitment. However, sometimes the situations become worse and the leader compromise with principles for the sake of public opinion but it is not necessary that the public is always correct. The ideologies should in favor of public as we had seen in above examples.

Finally, the effective political leader should have strong principles and aims to affect the public and improve the development rate of the country.