Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare the

Education is one of the most aspects of today's society, and nowadays, how to educate students is one of the hottest matters of debate. Some people hold the idea that pupils should take various courses in order to broaden their knowledge in different fields. However, others, with whom I comply, believe that the advantages of taking only relevant courses outweigh its disadvantages. Students should only take those courses that are likely to be conducive to their future careers. In what follows, I will delineate my viewpoint on the ground of two persuasive reasons.

Without a doubt, the most consequential point corroborating my stance on this subject is that students should increase their knowledge in their field of study to a great extent in order to be able to find a promising and suitable job or research position after graduation. Pupils can improve their skills and knowledge by taking only those courses that are relevant to their field of interest, and picking irrelevant courses is regarded as nothing but a waste of time. For instance, imagine a student majoring in Aerospace Engineering. The university where he studies requires him to pick a course about the history of Islam due to religious matters in his country. Accordingly, that pupil cannot select a course about programming or machine learning which are certainly fruitful for his future in both academic and work aspects because he does not have enough time to pick both these two courses. Thinking rationally, one can conclude that not only does picking a variety of courses about different irrelevant subjects dissipates students' time and energy, but it is also detrimental to them. Nowadays, every field of study offers the vast majority of materials that even if students took all the required and optional courses in that field, there would still be some new subjects to learn.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is that making students pick courses that they do not like or think would not have any impact on their future, they have a tendency to not study them well. They would not attend those classes and would not take those courses seriously. As a result, they get low scores in those courses, which negatively affects their overall GPA and self-confidence. Cumulative GPA is one of the conspicuous factors that every employer or professor uses to compare different applicants. Therefore, those students have a lower chance of finding a suitable job or appropriate research position in the future just because their previous university made them pick courses that had nothing to do with their major.

To make the long story short, and reflecting upon all the aforementioned grounds, one soon realizes that concentration is always better than jumping from one branch to another. Pupils, if they want to warranty their future in both academic and work environments, must only pick those courses that are the most relevant to their field of study. If the university in which they study requires them to pick irrelevant courses to their major, the students have to contradict this decision.