Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won t benefit their future careers

Undergraduate students majoring in Business should be required to take Humanities courses and those majoring in Sciences must be given the option to skip Humanities courses thought it should be recommended that opt for the courses.

Humanities courses taught in majority of institutes covers subjects of literature, arts, history, philosophy etc. In our current world, those that are present in any decision making roles, business owners for example find it important they are knowledgable in various kinds of subjects ranging from business and sales strategies to finance and accounting to be sucessful. While many such subjects are covered during Undergraduate for those majoring in Business, lessons from history or classics would also serve to be useful as history, as in, the past or experience is regarded as a great teacher.

However, for those majoring in Sciences, their careers are geared towards amassing technical know-hows and in general the more in depth the knowledge and technical experience, the higher the candidate is favoured during hiring for competitive positions. In such cases, knowledge over humanities courses is less weighed.

Regardless, for both majors, knowledge gained through Humanities courses provide a different perspective which would augment their technical knowledge while also serving as a stress reliever during their undergraduate studies.

In conclusion, while Business students should be required to take up Humanities courses, it should be not required; rather strongly recommended for those in majoring in Sciences. This is so that during their future careers if and when they would end up in leadership or management roles, a different prespective and lessons from history or classics would greatly aid in their decision making process.