To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author contends that big cities of society are main indicators of that society’s characteristics. This is a claim which is not always true. Among the countless reasons which give adherence to my perspective, I will delve to the most cogent ones in the following paragraphs.

The first striking factor which should cast doubt on the accuracy of this prompt is the influence of social media at the modernization of the major cities. Indeed, it is obvious that major and big cities have more easy access to different type of social media. This access leads to the interchange of the lots of information in a short period. The trend and modern living standard are one of these data which leads the major cities in the world get similar. Consequently, the major cities loss their main and native feature for the sake of modernization. On the other hand, the denizen in the small cities according to their privileged lifestyles, do not affect by this modernization and global standardization as the national at the big cities do. A lucid example which supports my argument is the tradition of celebrating the Nowruz_ New Year in Iran_ in the big city and small city of Iran. While in the small cities the family concern about whole details of this ceremony and try to follow all customs such as visiting the family members and giving gifts to each other, at the big cities most families considered it as the holiday and take trips.

Another crux factor which should be considered is the role of a major city as the immigrate state. Actually, the big cities for the sake of their facilities and job opportunities host lots of people from various small cities. This condition leads to the combination and merges of the various traditions since each immigrant carries his or her cultural values with him or herself during the migration. At this complex situation, the identification of the pure value from the others is an arduous task, it gets more difficult as you are a stranger. For instance, Tehran as the capital of Iran owns lots of advantages which gets thousands of immigrants from small cities pre-year. This fact leads to the missing and distortion of the main custom of Tehran. Thus, how a tourist could get familiar with this converted custom of Tehran?!

However, the abovementioned arguments should not be overgeneralized. The fact that the big cities possess the historical importance, and according to this significance the major and valuable construction could be found in these cities is undeniable. An example of this fact is Esfehan which is one of the major cities in Iran and during the past it was the capital of Iran for a long duration. Therefore, on that period a list of civilizations and constructions were done there. All of these buildings are the great benchmark of history of that city. If a tourist is really eager to visit the old buildings, this big city is a decent option for spending time. However, this fact is valid in the case that the stranger is willing to visit historical places. Otherwise, the big cities do not depict the major characteristics of nation.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned argument presents my perspective toward this disposition. While the big cities possess great historical buildings for visiting, the small cities present the indigenous values of each nation.