To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

The major cities of a nation usually are usually filled with the nation’s most advanced developments. They are also concentrated in economic headquarters, political forces, and cultural groups. I agree with the statement that major cities should be in the priority for one to study a nation’s traits. However it is also worthy to take a look in other areas of the nation, such as in rural and suburban areas, to determine the true value of a nation.

Big cities also have a lot to offer culturally to the societies they serve. The cities usually have a dense population of people coming from all around the world and the cultures that they bring into the cities. In a culturally rich society, cultures are likely to collide with one another with transformative effects. Thus, more fusions of cultures are likely to form in big cities, and to understand the most advanced characteristics of a nation, one should not skip its major cities. However, because of this culturally rich environment, the dominant culture of a society is likely to overshadow less-popular cultures that nonetheless play an important role. Thus, big cities might not be the best subjects to study suburban cultures of a country. Scholars should also examine other areas of the country.

In addition to culture, politics also has a significant impact on society’s overall structure. Major cities are often the center of media headquarters and where younger generations reside. It is very likely that politicians decide to use a big city to start off their campaigns or set up a debate in the city. A nation’s politics is also closely connected to its culture and economic status, an intertwining which is enhanced further in cities. Therefore, along with the economic advantages and culturally rich environment, big cities also offer abundant political resources for one to understand a nation.

However, researchers should not ignore areas besides the major cities in determining the characteristics of society. To get an overall picture of a country’s political status, it is also equally important to study its non-urban areas, far away from the major centres of commerce. For example, farmers and blue-collar workers are still considered an important source of economic contribution to a nation’s GDP. Politicians probably don’t want to lose their vote in elections, and will make appeals to a diverse array of the electorate. In summary, to get a comprehensive picture of a nation’s traits, one not only needs to assess the values of big cities through political, cultural, and economic facets but also needs to examine the same factors in non-urban areas.