To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In order to gain a clear view of a society, a variety of data sources and perspectives must be consulted and appreciated. The proportion of city residents to rural residents is rapidly changing. Society is becoming increasingly urban and globalized as the domain of cities encroaches on rural areas. It may be suggested then, that due to this demographic paradigm shift, a clear summary of a society can be garnered by examing its cities. However, there are several flaws in this position.

Throughout history, there have always been considerable differences in city and rural life. Rome saw a centralized, developed government yield to the problems of imperial expansion. The city of Rome, differed greatly from the outlying lands of the empire, which held considerable stakeholders in the power and cultural expansion of the empire. Roman citizenry enjoyed access to advanced infrastructure and engineering technologies, but rural Roman subjects' experience differed greatly. It would be unwise to ignore or marginalize the importance of Rome's colonies to its success. It fact, it is often argued that the mismanagement of the occupied and outlying lands of the empire led to its downfall.

Modern nations also face great contrasts between their major cities and the sentiment of the nation. In present-day Italy, there are considerable lifestyle and cultural differences between the North and South, so much so that the concept of Italy splitting into two nations has been entertained. Northern Italy is more metropolitan compared to southern italy and ignoring the shipping and manufacturing prowess of the south, due to their lack of major cities, would not be conducive to understanding Italian society. the The modern United States demonstrates the problem with ignoring the demographics of suburban and rural residents. Cultural and social mores in San Francisco, California differ greatly from those in Charlottesville, Virginia even though San Francisco is much more prominent, for example. Can one understand the sentiments of the United States by simply examining major-city life? Of course not. Due to the electoral college, the representation of rural peoples is augmented to balance the representative of powers of more urban regions. In assessing the sentiments of the United States, it would be erroneous to neglect the characteristics of life in rural areas, even though, most citizens live in cities.

In conclusion, in order to obtain a clear snapshot of the important characteristics of a society, one must be aware of the differences in rural and urban populations and their representativeness. One could not look at the 10 most populous cities in the United States and account for the differences in culture, governing, education, and infrastructure, among other things without appreciating those living outside of major cities. However, as the influence of cities grows meteorically, their capacity to represent a society grows as well.