Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is no doubt that overdependence on technology in current times has proved to be more detrimental to humans than beneficial.

Evolution, development and growth in all aspects, can be observed like never before. Just like there was Industrial Revolution which introduced us to machines and automated many labour-driven tasks, technology is more or less trying to do the same. I partially disagree with the statement mentioned as below is the stated reasoning for the same.

In earlier times, when cellphones were yet to be introduced in the market people used to remember all the contact details such as phone numbers, fax numbers and so on. But with the introduction of a phone containing a call directory people hardly try to remember the contact details. We tend not to use the memory-related part of our brain, which has eventually led to the weakening of our memory in the most frightful way that today if our mobile phone does not work we are lost. So, Mobile phones or technology, in general, has detrimental effects on humans.

Technology has aided in the fast and efficient transfer of data from one geographical location to the other. But this is want has turned the tables around. The spread of fake news is so common on the internet nowadays that one can not trust a piece of news without proof. The Spread of fake news and increase social activity like sharing pictures and ideas have led to hurtful comments from unrelated and socially insensitive people. These comments further led to a bad mental state. The users of these technologies are mainly young people and these people are prone to mental health issues that likely put our world in a dark future.

Technology has taken over the basic tasks which were a lot of labour oriented like the jobs of manufacturing. Now with technology stepping in the work is done at a faster speed and at higher efficiency and with less manpower. One such implementation is done at Tesla's manufacturing unit.

Hence, with the above reasoning if technology is used in the right way it will definitely help the human race to grow and develop in a positive way. Just we need to protect ourselves from the harmful side effects of our developments.