Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic big cities.

The traffic congestion in the metropolitan areas is a major concern in the world widely. Some people suggest that increasing the petrol price would be the suitable solution to take in order to solve this world wide issue. Others believe that other measures should be considered. This essay will discuss the possible causes of traffic jams occurred and then provide the possible solutions before a reasoned conclusion is reached.

The density of the metropolitan area is increasing due to individual’s various reasons such as commercial and private. For these reasons people are gathering in the cities by taking various forms of vehicles. Some might take private vehicles whereas others might take public transports. Even the city residents, cannot have comfortable life style, due to the congestions. As a result, they are forcing to take their own cars for convenient. Therefore, the possible solutions are required to take to solve this issue.

There are several solutions to consider such as the quality of the public transports, imposing taxes and the government campaigns. Firstly, the government could improve on the quality of public transports. They could increase the number of vehicles as well as the speed of it, especially during the rush hour to reduce the crowd-ness on the street. It is also important that the maintenance of machine should be monitored. Second, the government would impose taxes involving with private cars. They could impose capital gain taxes on extra vehicle owing per family head. Also, they could impose taxes on petrol prices. However, this measure is only for a solution to a short term policy. Lastly, the government would encourage citizens to use public transports in terms of marketing. As a last measure, the government could push the corporations to move outer of city to force people to locate or travel scatter around the country.

In conclusion, increasing the petrol price could be the one possible solution but so as the aids from the government to reduce the traffic jams are important. The aids from the government could reduce the traffic jams in major cities.