Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life Is it a positive or negative development

It is true that advertisements nowadays become more widespread in our modern society nowadays. While there are some strong arguments against developing this sort of industry, I still believe that it has beneficial effects on the tendency of consumerism.

There are several reasons why people might argue that advertising has detrimental effects on customers. Firstly, advertising manipulates people, who usually tend to follow the latest trend by associating certain brands with a higher status. Specifically, it aims to persuade people that buying stuff will make them happier by using more glamorous and successful images than its inherence. Secondly, advertisers often aim their marketing towards children who can easily be influenced by attractive products. Once spoilt children find something interesting, they put pressure on parents to buy them these things.

However, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by the advantages. One main plus point is that advertising is a key part of modern business. Companies need to tell customers about their products and services, hence they utilize advertisements as a tool to inform us about the choices we have. Besides, advertising is a creative industry that employs many people who want to apply for a stable job. Without it, there would be higher unemployment. Finally, advertising which is now made fascinating for spectators is a form of modern art. By creating the advertisement, the people who make it have to have expressions of ideas and themes through creative skills.

In conclusion, advertising certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the benefits outweigh them in the long term.