Anyone found guilty of committing a crime should be sent to prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Imprisonment has been considered to be a widely applied option for offenders recently. However, there is still a source of controversy whether all the offenders, regardless of their crimes, should be sentenced to imprisonment. I completely disagree with this view and believe that only certain crimes should be sent to prison.

There are two major reasons why we should not imprison all the criminals. Firstly, if this policy were implemented, it would lead to prison packed. In other words, there would be no room for subsequent offenders who commit more serious crimes rather than such delinquencies as joyriding or shoplifting. Secondly, putting criminals of even minor crimes into prison would not act as a deterrent to crime. It is evident that the imposition of imprisonment sentence shows little reduction in the general crime rate. Therefore, I believe imprisonment is not always an effective type of sentence for all the crimes.

On the other hand, I think that this only certain serious crimes such as homicide, trafficking or crimes related to politics should be imprisoned if forced to do so. The primary purpose of imprisonment is to keep such offenders from the society, which is to ensure the safety of denizens. Furthermore, serious offenders sent to prison would be reformed psychologically and physically in a rather harsh condition in the hope that they would not repeat the crime when re-entering the society. For those who have committed minor crimes, I think it would be better if we imposed such alternatives as community service and probation. For example, instead of being imprisoned, juvenile criminals should be sent to reform school, which is believed to be a more appropriate environment for them to rehabilitate.

In conclusion, I believe not all the criminals deserve to receive imprisonment sentence because of prison packed and ineffective deterrent. I think this type of sentence should be applied to serious offenders, and we should impose alternatives to those who commit minor crimes.