City dwellers seldom socialize with their neighbors today and the sense of community has been lost Why has this happened and how to solve this problem

Nowadays social life and community interactions are rare among urban residents. Two main reasons, threatening of privacy and lack of public space, have caused such phenomena and it is within the government’s capability and responsibility to address these issues.

Residential areas in city are dense and crowded in population. It is hard to have decent privacy in their living, especially for those living in high-rise apartments. Because living too close in one unit, people can easily know what their neighbours are doing no matter they want to know or not. So many people are avoiding social events that would meet their neighbours. Thus no social life would emerge in a community without people’s willingness to have one. Moreover, in urban regions, the public space and facilities are always scarce for residents to carry out activities and meet each other. Those ones that would like to organize events in their neighbourhood or establish a community group usually find it difficult to have a venue for it. This adds more difficulties for a community to nourish its culture and unity.

To solve the density problem, the government can build more homes in areas that are in suburban area where the land is larger. This would allow some population from city centre live in the outskirt of the city, in order to decrease the population density in city areas. With more space for each household, urban habitats would feel less threatened from privacy so that they can relax and enjoy the social life in their community. As for the lack of public space, the government can set regulations to developers that the new built projects should be designed with enough space for public usages and facilities. Therefore, it will make possible for future dwellers to interact with locals and create a sense of community.

To conclude, the lost of social life in communities is a problem due to high density of habitats in city centre areas. The authorities should solve such problem by lowering the density and give more space for public use.