Computers are being used more and more in education Some people say that this is a positive trend while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion

Today, it is apparent that using technology in the sphere of education is pervasive. Heated controversy has been sparked off over whether this trend is detrimental or advantageous. This essay examines the reasons for each point of view and supports the latter opinion.

On the one hand, it is argued that computers serve as a valuable tool for students and teachers to become global citizens. Currently, such technology devices are being utilized by students to enhance their studies and incorporated into lessons by teachers to boost the effectiveness of knowledge impartation. Being apprised of state-of-the-art technology, they are enabled to keep pace with the constantly changing world and will not be given the label of “old-fashioned individuals”. Moreover, computers allow them to access social media platforms where they are provided with the latest news or communicate with people from every corner of the world. It follows therefore that they can significantly broaden their horizons and social circles, together with staying updated.

On the other hand, opponents of the trend believe that computers may decline students’ brain functions. As a matter of fact, the Internet is teeming with an abundance of information that encompasses answers to most of students’ assignments. Inevitably, many students find it hard to resist the temptation to simply search them up instead of patiently working them out. The requirement to think is, therefore, overshadowed, which soon impairs their cognitive skills as well as their performance at school. By the same token, some spend too much time watching short videos on the Internet to entertain, which possibly causes their attention span to shrink.

In my judgment, the emergence of technology in teaching and learning by no means has adverse influences. As long as students learn to control themselves and not misuse it, they will undoubtedly feel numerous benefits regarding their studies.

In the final analysis, although people are not unanimous about whether this development works wonders or not, I hold the view that it should be encouraged on condition that students possess enough self-discipline.