Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Nowadays, more and more people in some wealthy country are willing to change their daily transportation to bicycle due to its environmentally friendly and healthy for users. However, it is not a common transport for the citizen in underdeveloped and developing country. Thus, in my opinion, we need to create more campaign to encourage more people to engage in cycling.

To begin with, due to the significant growth in the number of engine vehicles such as car and motorbike, the qualitative of air is reduced and breathing in that air cause numerous health diseases. However, private vehicles still the most common transportation because of its convenience in long distance travelling. Moreover, weather condition is also a big obstacle that obstructs the decision of a person in the transportation transforming.

In my opinion, we can increase the popularity of cycling by creating more campaign that promotes to the citizen about its benefits. For instance, cycling help reduces the number of private cars which contributes to the reduction in the level of exhaust emissions released into the environment and slowing down the progress of global warming. However, a bicycle is not a convenient transport to travel in long distance. To solve that, the government should construct more public transports and encourage the citizen to use a bicycle as an intermediate transportation.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that cycling does bring many benefits. However, in some place, it still an uncommon transportation due to its inconvenience in long distance travelling. To overcome those obstacles, in my opinion, the government should spend more money on improving public transportation.