Do the problems brought by international travel outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, many hold the view that the popularity of visiting different countries is a positive development. At the same time, however, there is a body of opinion which holds that there will be demerits when people are seeing the world. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that global travel can bring in revenues to local countries, because foreign visitors may definitely spend money while visiting, such as eating at restaurants, living in hotels and taking public transportation. In addition, international travel can enrich the aboriginal culture. Compared with the domestic tourists, the ones abroad may spread different cultures of their own when they are visiting, which can obviously make the native nation full of exotic culture.

On the other hand, while the international travel can be beneficial, its problems cannot be ignored. First, it can aggravate the current environmental issues. For example, the airplane that has been applied in the global trips requires a great deal of fossil fuels to take off and fly its passengers to their destinations, which may deplete the traditional fuels in the end. Also, the air quality can be undermined, since when the oil is burnt there will be a large amount of exhaust such as carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide, two main factors of air pollution.

To summarize, there is no doubt that international tourism may bring about economic and cultural benefits. At the same time, however, it can lead to disadvantages for the environment. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that the drawbacks of international travel are more evident.