Nowadays, supermalls are growing worldwide due to its elegant environment. Some people believe that owing to the extension of mall culture, the local business would die and as a result local community, while I don’t find any valid justification in these arguments. A deep insight of this is described in below paragraphs.

There are few reasons why people choose supermalls over local markets. People prefer a hygienic and sophisticated environment over crowdie and traditional places to shop. Due to this change in preference, consumers turn to supermarkets where they could get all quality products they want at one place.

Some people argue that this causes closure of local shops and in turn local community. There are some grounds to valid their thinking. The first point to make is that, most of the malls sell international goods, so local goods would not be the first choice for the citizens which causes severe harm to the local business. For example, the popularity of the labels like Nike and Adidas has put locally made clothes on extinction. The second point to make is that, this extinction of local business could increase unemployment. People would leave the region and deport to seek the employment which might cause the death of local community. For example, in India, workers of handmade cloths have changed their occupation due to an introduction of the big brands. Thus, opponents of mall culture believe an establishment of the supermarket is the main reason behind disturbance in the society.

However, I believe that market does not directly relate to society or culture. There are many bases of my view. Firstly, traditional goods could be sold in the malls which can increase the sell which means proliferation of the traditional business. As a prime example, Indian “Banarasi Saree” has become so famous that westerners also order it. Secondly, these markets require many employees to cater for the needs of the visitors which could increase the opportunity. For example, each town in India has D-mart having at least a hundred employees working in each. Finally, any community does not fully depend on the shopping centers. For instance, there are many places like community centers and club which could keep traditional society to live. Thus, it would be an overstatement to say that supermall kills local business and local community.

To sum up it all, although the spread of large markets could impact small business, it does not mean the complete death of the regional business or local culture.