Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

These days, many hold the view that the price of gasoline should be increased in order to solve the current problems, such as traffic jams and pollution. However, there is some uncertainty as to this proposal, and how the problem might be resolved. In this essay I will examine the issue and seek some possible solutions.

Admittedly, it is true that higher price of gasoline can theoretically prevent traffic jams and pollution, since it forces drivers to drive less in order to reduce travel cost. This means that there will be fewer cars on the road and then less car exhaust in the air, such as carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide, two main factors of global warming. Nonetheless, from the aspect of travel convenience, more expensive oil may not be an effective way to diminish the number of private vehicles on the way, as their owners may still decide to travel by car due to the convenience.

On the other hand, as to solutions to traffic congestion, the government should encourage its citizens to take public transportation by building more bus lines and stops, which could enable them to have easy access to buses when going outside. On top of that, the air pollution can be tackled by the exploration of clean energy, such as wind or solar power. Once this environmentally friendly energy is applied to run cars, there will be no car emissions and the global warming can be alleviated.

To summarize, there is no doubt that higher cost of fossil fuels may be a fashion to combat traffic jams and air pollution. At the same time, however, other measures are required because it is not that effective. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that in order to address the long-standing issues the national authorities should try different ways.