Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment only governments and large companies can make a difference To what extent do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Environmental pollution is a reality that affects all people on the planet. In order for further pollution to be prevented, competent measures should be asserted. I fully agree that governments and large companies are the only two entities able to make sophisticated decisions and take the necessary steps towards the protection of the environment.

Individuals are not educated enough with respect to the various factors which affect our environment. Due to the fact that pollution is a complex matter people need to spend a great amount of time to become familiar with this particular concept and, hence, be able to make decisions that protect our natural resources. For that reason, it is imperative for a country's central administration to inform with the help of its specialized scientific personnel the general public regarding the possible environmental threats and the steps to be adopted.

Furthermore, protecting the environment requires serious funding. For example, manufacturing eco-free technologies in cars to release less air pollution or developing alternative forms of energy, such as wind energy, can cost a lot of money. Individuals do not have the necessary resources to spend. However, the same thing cannot be said for large enterprises, which make multimillion revenues on an annual basis. Incentives should be offered by the state to these companies (e.g. possible tax exemption), in order to invest in more friendly for environmental technologies.

To conclude, I absolutely agree that individuals are not able to do anything to improve the environment. On the one hand, governments should through their scientific staff update individuals on the required day to day steps for the protection of the environment, and on the other hand, big companies should be given the motivation to invest in the environment, and as a result, protect it.