It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Risk perception becomes more important in the era with numerous changes. Taking risks in people’s professional lives or personal lives have both benefits and disadvantages that belong to each person. In my opinion, considering between two perspectives in each circumstance is different.

On one hand, taking calculated risks can lead to significant rewards, whether in terms of career advancement, financial gains, or personal achievements. Firstly, risk acceptance can improve risk management skills. People who regularly face risk learn to rate the options, calculate the likelihood of success and prepare for different situations. Moreover, taking risks can raise confidence. Facing risks and getting over makes people feel more confident about their abilities. When people see that they can overcome difficulties, they may feel ready to handle challenges in the future. Besides, taking risks not only does practice adaptability, but also the ability to deal with stress. If people frequently are in uncertain situations, they may be familiar with pressure that leads to their controlling emotion and solving problems effectively.

On the other hand, if not done in a considered and planned manner, taking risks can bring about many disadvantages. The first negative perspective is finance and economics. Several studies have shown that taking unconsidered risks in the financial sectors can cause the loss of assets and reduce personal wealth. For example, financial terrorism or stock market declines have caused financial disasters for people who take too much risk. In addition, too many risks result in stress and anxiety. Research has revealed the link between risk and psychological problems such as depression and anxiety. Failure can injury an individual’s mental health, especially when people do not know how to respond.

All in all, whether the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages depend on various factors. It is necessary to know how to assess and manage the risk, at the same time, not accept the risk that is beyond ability.