It is impossible to help all people in the world so governments should only focus on people in their own countries To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people claim that governments should entirely concentrate on their citizens only instead of assisting all people around the world. While it is true that authorities need to support their own individuals, I would argue it is also possible to help other people in the world.

To begin with, there are some reasons why government should focus on people in their home countries. Firstly, when authorities care for and support to solve their difficulties, which positively improve their standard of living. This allows reducing the rate of social evils. For example, the government provide disadvantaged groups such as homeless or disabled people, with job opportunities, which helps them to afford themselves and share financial burden with their families. If the government do not give them a hand with these problems, they might engage in illegal activities such as theft and fraud. Secondly, this trend helps build citizen trust in government. As a result, individuals will support governments’ campaigns and obey the regulation better. If authorities do not care about their inhabitants, which might negatively create opportunities for those people who oppose the state.

However, I believe that we can also assist people coming from all parts of the world. First, we can have a good relationship with other nations. This promotes peace and stability, therefore, we can boost the sustainable development of the planet. Additionally, assisting citizens in other countries, to some extent, is synonymous to helping people in the home country. For instance, in 2004, the UK and the US doctors and nurses to Africa to deal with the outbreak of Ebola, which could prevent this dreadful plague from spreading to other nations, including the UK and the US themselves.

In conclusion, while supporting inhabitant in the home country can bring a number of advantages, I believe that governments also gain greater benefits from assisting people around the world.