Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

We human beings are thriving in this world primarily because of our intelligence. Museums are the go to places of modern people to dive deeper into a certain aspect of knowledge such as science, arts, and early human-forms. The prompt asserts that most of the museums charge a fee while others are free of charge. I mostly agree with the contention that advantages of charging people for admission does outweigh the disadvantages, although I do concede that in some situations or instances the disadvantages are more detrimental.

First of all, there has to be a system that makes the museums sustainable. In most of the museums, there are staffs such as expert people related to the museums themes work, and the usual staffs such as tour guides, souveneir shop keepers, genitors, and so on. These people have monthly salaries, and also a infrastructure of a museum has other monthly payments such as electricity bills, water bills, and gas bills. Hence, to pay-off salaries and utility bills of any museum, a sustainable system is needed. As, most of the museums in every country are state runned ones, there are subsidies from the government itself, still there are gaps in the pay-offs where admission charges come into the scenerio to fill the void. Thus, the admission charges are an absolute must for every museums.

Secondly, most of the meusums are built at least a couple of decades ago, ergo, renovations are needed often. To renovate a whole museum or a portion of it, is not a little task. It needs time and money. And, most of the museums have a system, where a portion of the admission fees go into the fund for next renovation of the mesuem, Without the renovations, the mesuems lose its attractiveness to its visitors. Therefore, renovations play a major role in keeping a museum up to date with the needs of its visitors.

However, in the third world countries, it is next to impossible to charge a fee for admission in museums. As, most of the people are living under a poverty line, it is a bad idea to charge the people. Another measure should also be put into action on the museums which do charge a fee is that they should provide waivers to old citizens, school children, and students whogo to the museums to research. These will put a nice balance to the whole situation.

In conclusion, museums should charge for admission as it is a gateway for the museums' sustainability and renovations. But, also they should have a system to waiver the charges to the people who are unable to pay and the students who are researching.