Many people believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement Discuss this view and give your own opinion

These days, formal ‘pen and paper’ examinations are the common approach for teachers to assess their students’ abilities. However, it is said that this method is inefficient in checking educational achievement. From my perspective, I believe that ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not a perfect way to evaluate students’ achievements.

There are numerous disadvantages to traditional assessment ways. First of all, students’ competence can be underestimated by these tests. Since many people have disparate capacities and skills, so they do not have a chance to perform in their best field through this approach. For example, some people are more likely to do better in oral methods, so by answering the questions on paper, not only they do not express enough their ideas, but they also cannot convey their exact messages. Secondly, traditional assessments are the best way for students to cheat. They just have to glance at their next partner and copy others’ ideas easily. Since then, lecturers fail to evaluate exactly their students’ abilities and performances.

In my point of view, instead of ‘pen and paper’ tests, making a speech is a great medium to assess students’ skills. When they have to present a speech, they have to gain insight into a certain topic to defend their ideas with their classmates. Since then, they will probably enhance their critical thinking. Also, they will be more self-assured when they have to take lots of these tests, so they can improve their presentation skills, which are really pivotal in their future career.

To sum up, I believe that ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not a great way to evaluate educational achievement because it lacks abilities to assess different students’ abilities as well as have more chances for children to cheat. Instead of that, I think that lecturers should assign oral exams for their students to judge exactly their performances.