Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The education system is largely based on remembering texts and theories, so the key to achieving success in it could be an outstanding memory. From my point of view, while memorising can be convenient for achieving top results at lower grades, as the contents become larger and more elaborated, the main formula for being successful at education consist of a developed capacity to reason and innovate.

Memorising is the most efficient method to obtaining high grades in high school. Outstanding marks can be easily reached by memorising either text books for theorethical classes, such as History, or how to resolve the different types of exercises in practical classes, like Mathematics. Therefore, students who posses an efficient memory tend to obtain better results. However, as the complexity of the courses increases, much more than this attribute is needed for excelling.

Moreover, short term memory is not a synonym of knowledge. Memorising does not imply understanding, which is necessary for long term memory. Therefore, high grades do not mean that the person has deeply comprehend concepts, and thus, has learned them. A recent study shows that if the test stucture suddenly changes, most children who obtained good marks in previous tests due to memory could not pass it.

To conclude, I partly disagree with the statement. In my opinion, whereas memorising the exam's content may be quite useful to obtain exceptional results in high school, basic concepts that will probably be needed in further education are not being learned and as the syllabus get larger and more complex, this method will stop being efficient.