As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

However realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Modern society has created more job opportunities for the public. Thus, in order to improve living standards, many people devote their lives to work. Under such a circumstance, whether people can gain job satisfaction is crucial to their wellbeing. This essay will present several factors that lead to job satisfaction. Also, I think it is unrealistic to satisfy all workers in a company.

First, what people can achieve from the work and how challengeable the work is are important to job satisfaction. Many young people today care less about the salary when they start their careers, instead, they prefer to participate a company which offers them more opportunities, as these opportunities contribute to their career development. Also, accomplishing tough tasks can give them a sense of achievement.

Second, a comfortable working environment and a harmonious team atmosphere can also bring job satisfaction. For example, compared with working near a noisy local community, I believe most people prefer to work in a tranquil area where they can focus on their work. In addition, people working in a harmonious team are less likely to be affected by non-working affairs, such as conflictions between teammates and instability of the team. Therefore, a good team atmosphere can boost working efficiency of the workforce and bring job satisfaction to them after finishing the tough work.

As there are many causes to job satisfaction, I contend that it is not realistic for a company to achieve them all. The top priority of a company is to earn profits for its shareholders. Thus, it is inevitable that some companies will sacrifice their staff's satisfaction so asa to increase profits. For example, some enterprises choose to locate their offices in remote areas, which certainly reduce the job satisfaction of some employees, but such a method is effective to save costs, and thereby making more profits for firms.

In sum, many factors, including personal advancement in a company and a comfortable working environment, can make a contribution to job satisfaction. However, I don't think it is realistic to achieve job satisfaction for all workers.