Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of

There has been no time in history where scientists have to face an ethical dilemma over whether in vivo testing on animals is morally justified or otherwise. On the one hand, experimentation on non-human animals is oftentimes deemed ruthless, let alone inhumane. However, on the other hand, imposing a ban on animal research could carry potential adverse implications that concern human's sake.

With respect to the abolishment of animal testing, the matter in question comes down to animal welfare. Every living creature from primitive bacteria to socially complex chimpanzees is brought to this Earth with equal rights to exist. In spite of this implied contract of equity, humans throughout the course of time repeatedly rid other animals of freedoms by means of hunting or domesticating. On top of that, we now breed and keep certain classes of animals, namely rodents and primates, in laboratory settings and take their life for scientific purposes. Thus concerns are raised about such deed as dissecting live mammals due to the abusive nature of the act. As long as the academic community persists in exploiting animals, regulations are needed to standardize animal care.

Despite the evidently clear moral downsides, substantial practical applications are undeniable. Conducting trials of a newly discovered substance on other organisms instead of directly on the human body results in fewer preventable and unnecessary deaths. Based on the aftermath of the experiment, the prototype of a hypothesized drug can be either withdrawn or modified so that adverse reactions will not occur in humans. For instance, when a pharmaceutical company came up with a chemical agent that was theoretically safe on papers, the resultant death of a lab rat might lead to immediate suspension of the drug without further investigations on humans. Owing to the comparable similarity between rat tissues and those of our body, a drug which is harmful to the rat’s body might be to ours as well.

In conclusion, performing laboratory testing on animals is neither humane nor vain, but a peculiar mixture of construction and destruction. Innovation would have died out if it had not been for the death of those animals.