Nowadays, artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is this a good or bad development?

In the recent few years, computer-driven automobiles are becoming more and more popular. This is mainly due to the latest breakthroughs in the field of computer thinking and Artificial Intelligence, and this is considered as a good development for the safety measures it provides.

While AI and machine learning have been around for some time now, we only recently have been able to utilize it to our needs, due to the significant developments in this field. Which improved the process of computers thinking and learning on many levels; from the computers’ processing time and power, needed to learn and analyze new information, to the memory capacity used to store this information and the response algorithms set by the AI. For example, Tesla has announced that due to the recent improvements to its Autopilot system, cars will be able to drive itself soon across the country with no direct human supervision.

Integrating AI into the cars’ system should be considered a positive step towards increasing the road safety. And this is because computers ability to deal and react to a specific situation is much faster than that of the human brain. Cutting the rate of accidents and providing mind rest for the driver, which can save the precious lives of the driver and the pedestrians on the roads. Volvo trucks, for instance, now use AI in their system, analyzing the road elements and providing a better response to surroundings.

In conclusion, the increasing number of cars controlled by AI is mainly due to the huge improvements in technology and computers power and this trend should be welcomed because of the extra safety they introduce.