Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Recently, the phenomenon of finding a vacancy and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, apart from various advantages of working for companies and organizations, some people prefer to be self-employed. In my view, miscellaneous factors contribute to select self-employment to do with psychological and financial aspects.

Obviously, loads of individuals couldn’t endure having a boss due to their personality. They like feeling freedom as they are doing their jobs rather than a restricted framework, for example, from 7:00 to 15:00 every day. Meanwhile, performing a regular routine work, under the supervision of managers, and following rules end up to dry creative minds of workers.

In addition, income and financial faces of jobs are other marked causes which compel individuals to ponder about establishing their own business. Through being an employee in a firm, they will pay a fair salary, although it may not be a fair salary in employees’ view, at the end of each month and if you are lucky, after say, 10 years, you are eligible to get a promotion. Unlike working for others as an employee, self-employers are of the opinion that their independence in terms of income is worth to choose self-employment.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of drawbacks of being self-employed. While working for a company guarantee at least a regularly income every month, individuals who work for themselves may not gain any yields for a while even years. Moreover, bankruptcy is a dramatic side of self-employment. It is likely that under the circumstance of being bankrupt, they eventually lose everything they might have.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on cons and pros of self-employment, I opt to support the idea that the merits of being self-employed far outweigh its downsides. To me, waking up early morning every day, obeying an obese executive manager and finally being an old, retired man after 30 years are a nightmare.