In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.Discuss both th

People have different views on whether it is beneficial for the investment be used for building new fast trains between cities. It is clear to me that the budget should be spent on improving existing transportation infrastructure first.

On the one hand, some people believe that the government need to spend a huge amount of money on developing the high speed transportation in order to cut the time of travel between two cities. For example, after fast trains have constructed in Taiwan, it is easier for traveler to go to KaoHsiung from Taipei. In the past, people used to spend 6 to 7 hours arriving KaoHsiung, yet it only takes 1.5 hours now. Nevertheless, the new railway lines can also bring the money for the government on the basis that the economy will be prosper than before. Tourism is one of the latest commercial patterns that can earn money from the travelers, the more convenient the cities are, the more tourists will be attracted, which in turn makes more revenue.

On the other hand, although there are some benefits on constructing high speed railway, I believe that there still have some problems the government need to measure first. The public transportation is one of the most important part of the cities so I think it is necessary to spend the budget on improving the buses or metro that the cities have already had. For instance, some buses in Taipei are old and some are even not functional, it is urgent that the city planner must replace and furnish the transport so that the citizens can have a pleasant travel experience.

In conclusion, although the development of the high speed railway is important, I believe that the replacement and the improvement of public transport are more necessary than others.