People living in the 21st century have a better quality of life than the previous centuries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that global citizens these days possess superior living conditions than they did in the past. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion due to the following elaborations.

There are several reasons for the belief that people in the current world have superior living standards. As the world has become more globalised and progressed, numerous medical breakthroughs have been recorded throughout history. With these transformations, scientists have devised new treatments that can cure various deadly diseases and therefore safeguard millions of lives. For instance, as the world faced the fatal COVID-19 virus in 2019, leading scientists worldwide successfully rolled out the optimal vaccines to curb the spread of the virus. As a result, medical advancements in recent years have considerably enhanced human health, reflecting the better quality of life.

Nevertheless, the critics of the abovementioned opinion argue that the quality of life has been detrimentally affected due to the implications of overpopulation. The sharp increase in the number of residents has accelerated the figures for private vehicles, which can exacerbate environmental problems stemming from the amount of carbon dioxide emissions released into the atmosphere. Another consequence of overpopulation deterring humans from advancing better living conditions is the limited access to education. As the number of Vietnamese public schools is inadequate to meet the rapid growth of the population, thousands of secondary students are forced to attend a highly competitive entrance examination for high schools. Candidates who cannot conquer the exam may undergo years of vocational training, inflicting emotional and psychological wounds on those young children.

In conclusion, while I contend that our living conditions have improved considerably compared to the past, I argue that the quality of life is still poor in some aspects. Without appropriate managerial practices for the rapidly rising populations, various problematic issues will emerge as obstacles to reducing the contemporary living standards of individuals.