Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem Do you agree

Social health is increasingly deteriorating throughout the world, especially in modern countries. Today, the problem is getting worse because of people's sophisticated lifestyles which force them to eat junk food or unhealthy products of an unsustainable agriculture system. Some believe that putting a tax on fast food can reduce this burning problem. It disagrees that increasing the price would encourage people to use more sound nutrients, as it raises people's willingness to buy a product. moreover, it leads to a drop in the quality of selected foods by people. These reasons will be discussed in this order.

Firstly, there is an inverse relationship between the price of a product and the demand for it. Take any commodity as an example, higher prices even can contribute to more deriving demands, as it illustrates more product value. Thus, using this method to reduce the use of convenience foods and encouraging people to eat more organic and healthy ones is refuted.

On the other hand, it is obvious that in a modern society people give preference to foods which are readily available. In this situation, it is clear that increasing the price has a detrimental effect on public health, as people might not consume quality food. For instance, replacing brown sugar with white one in a confectionary item reduces its price and quality. Therefore, it is obvious that this strategy would generate severe subsequent consequences like obesity, heart disease, higher cholesterol level and mental illnesses such as depression. Thus, a tax that increases the overall price of instant food is not a rational strategy to control the amount of use.

Following the analyzation of price inability to control demands and encouraging the use of less quality food, it is clear that increasing tax would not contribute to public health. Further, it is expected that policymakers consider more sustainable strategies for the domestic use of proper foods.