By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilt of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The death penalty is one of the methods to punish murderers but because this method involves with killing, it can also consider as committing a crime. Thus, some people claim that, the most effective method is the life sentence. In my opinion, even though I agree with the opinion for the death penalty will lead to another criminal acts, I disagree with the statement of life in prison is the most effective punishment. Because the current prison systems are not effective as its theory. Hence, we should look for other alternative method to punish those criminals.

Some people could claim that, the death penalty is the most effective way to reduce crime rates, however I believe this is not the case. There are various ways to punish criminals and it can be difficult to say that the death penalty is the most effective method because it is murdering the criminals. The feeling of relief and satisfaction by killing the criminals (murderers) in an instance is a short term reward. By killing the murderers will not bring the victims back to a life. Therefore, instead of looking for the short term gratification of killing murderers in an instance, people can look for other alternative methods.

One of those alternative methods is the life sentence in prison. However, due to the ineffectiveness of current prison system, the life in prison will not be effective. Currently, all prisons are created to be well facilitated with having roommates that can provide the comforts to prisoners. With all these comfortable facilities and roommates, prisoners can learn more about criminal acts. By sharing the information about the next crimes, prisoners can form a gang to rule the whole prison cells and this could result in catastrophic consequences of having a gang fight. Since the main purpose of prisons is educating criminals for wrong doing behaviours and admitting the past mistakes to live in a regretful lives, the current systems in prison is luxurious. So that life in prison cannot be the most suitable method to punish criminals.

Since all the methods that are currently available do not suit for punish criminals, people should create a new form of systems under some concepts. The concepts must include of the purpose of punishing criminals and the nature of punishment should not be interfering with the existing laws. The death penalty is committing of murders and whereas life in prison is not suitable with the punishing purposes. People have invented with new criminal laws and by frequently updated, I believe we can create suitable punishment systems that could fit the criteria of punishment once for all.

In conclusion, despite the capital punishment can be seemed as the most effective punishment for some people, it cannot deny that this is against the criminal law since it acts of murders. The other possible answer appears to be the life in prison, but this also not the most suitable approach to be used for the malfunction with the current systems. Since we have not found the most suitable approaches to punish criminals, we should continue to seek for the alternatives.