By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people claimed that, life in prison is the most effective punishment for criminals who killed innocent people than that of a capital punishment, because this can be viewed as committing of another murders by killing of murderers. I completely agree with this opinion and think life sentences are much more effective than capital punishments.

Life sentences would be the effective punishment for criminals. Since criminals can consider about their past mistakes, they could think about their current situation and this thought can lead to feeling of regrets and sorrows for the victims. The victim’s families and the public could feel relief to see the criminal’s penance and this would be much more rewarding. If the criminals would be sentenced to death, the criminals may not recognise of their mistakes and they might feel the unfairness with the results. Also, the criminals will do the voluntary works to the local communities where most of people do not want to do, so that criminals can be useful for the local communities.

In terms of capital punishment, it is not the best approach to punish criminals for three reasons. Firstly, criminals would not get the sufficient time to feel sorrows for the victims’ loses or being regretful for their past behaviours. Secondly, it can be viewed as a short term gratification. In a short term, this punishment could sound relief for the victim’s families and to the public, but in the long run this will not cover up their wound and will definitely not bring the victims back to life. Lastly, this is another crime. By killing or murderer can be considered as the act of murder. Even though the criminals sound bad, it is reasonable to not to kill them. Therefore, the death penalty is not the most suitable approach to deal with criminals for all those reasons.

In conclusion, the death penalty can be seen as violation of criminal act of killing a person and it does not provide the insufficient time for penance. Therefore, life sentences are the better punishment for murderers.