With an increase in technological advances, and awareness regarding the internet among the people, electronic shopping has become famous from last few decades. The consumers and the big firms both are affected by this trend. This essay will discuss pros and cons at both the level.

This change in the tendency of people is beneficial not for them only, but also for corporations. For customers, they got a convenient way of shopping which can be done anytime, from anywhere owing to the availability of the internet and the electronic devices. For instance, when they order a product from the website, it would be delivered right in front of their door. Not only this, if the product is not as expected or damaged, pick from the home facility is also available. This ensures not only the quality but also the satisfaction. For a company, they could sell their products direct to the customers without any intermediary like wholesalers or promoters, which could decrease the maximum retail price and as a result increases the sales. As an outstanding instance, some big brands of the smart phones have realized the profit associated with it. They have gained at the extent that they have completely moved to online sale. Thus, online shopping has been proved to be the boon for both the sellers or manufacturers and purchasers.

However, some curses are also attached to this blessing. For individuals, they could be a victim of the social fishing while shopping online. Their important data like credit card number, personal identification number, username and password could be used for forging. For instance, once a newspaper published one incidence where one person used the cyber café computer for shopping a gift for her girlfriend and his online banking account was hacked. The hacker used this information to withdraw all the money in his account. On the other hand for a company, it could be costly if the price of the shipment is considered. Also, some risks regarding damage are associated with the transportation. For example, if someone purchases a product electronically, the seller has to ship it safely to him otherwise, the replacement would be required which causes further expense on the shipment. Thus, it is quite possible that this boon can be converted into the curse if care is not taken.

To conclude, online trade has made the shopping convenient for the customer by bringing the supermarkets on their fingers and increase in sale to the entrepreneur, although there are some threats to the security of the information and commodity in transit.