Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reading is a popular way to exercise reader’s brain, sharpen reader’s imagination. Whereas, watching films and television could be considered relaxing and might not benefit its audience as much as reading. I completely agree with this statement and this essay will explain why.

Reading materials contain text by most. It is a reader who imagines everything narrated by an author and the result could be different among different readers. This is not the case with watching a film or a television program which its director is the one who solely imagines the whole story and expresses that into a gorgeous visualized format; thus, an audience does not need to interpret a movie script and can relaxingly watch the show.

A reader can also effortlessly jump back into the previous chapter when needed so that the content can be understood clearly. This is not possible in a movie theatre or an ordinary television without time-shift feature. Therefore, when in doubt, a reader can go back and read the story again.

Moreover, reading speed can be controlled by each individual own pace and can even be stopped in the middle and continue later. It usually takes a few weeks to a month to finish reading a single book, readers can spend a lot of time with reading and this can become a part of their life. On the other hand, a film or a television program normally takes two to three hours and there is nothing to do until the next release.

In summary, a film and a television program is directed by a handful number of people. It is their imagination that is projected onto a screen; yet, reading needs a lot of reader’s imagination, time, and intense focus.