Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults.

Why is this?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Shopping has been a recent favorite activity to spend on free time by an adolescent in some states. This happens likely because of lack of public open space. Firstly, the essay will discuss the ground reason on developing shopping as the main choice of leisure activity and secondly, the essay will elaborate on the negative development that comes along with choosing to shop on free time.

Limited option on communal space for young people to spend their spare time has lead to force them to choose to shop. A decade ago, young adults had many options of place and recreation such as fish pond to fishing, open park with many facilities and unrestricted forest. Nowadays those open space removed as a compensating of urban lifestyle and state's massive expansion, consequently. In addition, this happens in many developing countries such as Indonesia, Thailand, and Malaysia. For example at Indonesia, between the years of 2009 and 2019, a lot of public garden and park has been replaced by skyscrapers and commercial buildings.

The habit to buy something whether in a retail or in a bulk could bring detrimental effect, especially at young people. That is to say, consumptive behavior troubled them to manage their money, thereby to set priority upon what is they need as opposed to what is they want. A research conducted by Harvard psychologist showed that young people who suffered from consumptive behavior tend to have a bad money management characteristic and poor financial position. This is supported by the high number of young adult who does not have any savings despite the fact that they already have a job.

In conclusion, the idea that shopping as a way to spend a spare time has grown stronger because of a narrow choice of leisure spot and consequently brings drawback on financial habit in the adolescent.